Directions for the Establishment of National Standards Technical Committees by the Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection, Ministry of Economic Affairs

[Chronicle of Promulgation and Amendments]

Approved and promulgated by the Ministry of Economic Affairs on 25 March 1998. Approved and promulgated by the Ministry of Economic Affairs on 28 April 1999.

- 1. These Directions are set up for the establishment of National Standards Technical Committees in accordance with Article 6 of the Standards Act to conduct relevant matters of establishing national standards.
- 2. The Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection, Ministry of Economic Affairs (hereinafter referred to as the BSMI) establishes a variety of National Standards Technical Committees (hereinafter referred to as the Technical Committees) as follows:
- (1) National Standards Technical Committee on Civil Engineering and Architecture.
- (2) National Standards Technical Committee on Mechanical Engineering.
- (3) National Standards Technical Committee on Electrical Engineering.
- (4) National Standards Technical Committee on Electronic Engineering.
- (5) National Standards Technical Committee on Motor Vehicle and Aerospace Engineering.
- (6) National Standards Technical Committee on Track Engineering.
- (7) National Standards Technical Committee on Naval Architecture Engineering.
- (8) National Standards Technical Committee on Iron Metal Smelting.
- (9) National Standards Technical Committee on Non-Iron Metal Smelting.
- (10) National Standards Technical Committee on Nuclear Engineering.
- (11) National Standards Technical Committee on Chemicals.
- (12) National Standards Technical Committee on Textiles.
- (13) National Standards Technical Committee on Mining.
- (14) National Standards Technical Committee Agriculture.
- (15) National Standards Technical Committee on Food Products.
- (16) National Standards Technical Committee on Wood.
- (17) National Standards Technical Committee on Paper.
- (18) National Standards Technical Committee on Pottery.
- (19) National Standards Technical Committee on Consuming Products.
- (20) National Standards Technical Committee on Hygiene and Medical Appliances.
- (21) National Standards Technical Committee on Information and Communication.
- (22) National Standards Technical Committee on Industrial Safety.
- (23) National Standards Technical Committee on Quality Control.
- (24) National Standards Technical Committee on Logistics and Packaging.
- (25) National Standards Technical Committee on Environmental Protection.
- (26) National Standards Technical Committee on General and Other Areas.

The Technical Committees stated in the preceding paragraph may be added or deleted depends on actual needs.

3. Members of each Technical Committee are experts coming from related organizations, institutions, schools, factories or other places and invited by the Director General of the BSMI. The term shall be two years. The number of Technical Committee members shall be decided depends on actual needs.

- 4. The terms of reference of each Technical Committee are as follows:
- (1) Preparation and review of national standards proposals.
- (2) Review of the technical content of national standards proposals and the coordination of several standards.
- (3) Review the application and interpretation of national standards.
- (4) Proposals for other issues.
- 5. Each Technical Committee comprises a chairperson, who shall be selected by the Director General of the BSMI from members of each Technical Committee.

The chairperson shall be the convener of the Technical Committee meetings and chair related meetings. If the chairperson cannot attend the meetings, members attending the meeting shall elect one to act on his behalf.

Each Technical Committee may have one executive secretary and one to three secretaries, who shall be designated by the BSMI or recommended to the BSMI from the Technical Committee members by the chairperson.

- 6. When it is necessary, each Technical Committee may set up sub-committees to conduct the events described in Point 4. The chairperson and members of the sub-committees are elected from members of the Technical Committee. Each sub-committee may have one secretary, who shall be designated by the BSMI or recommended from sub-committee members by the sub-committee chairperson.
- 7. Members, executive secretaries and secretaries of each Technical Committee and sub-committee are nonpayment positions. However, members of the Technical Committee that do not belonged to the BSMI may be paid attendance fees in accordance with related regulations.
- 8. Each Technical Committee may invite members of other relevant Technical Committees to participate in its meetings.
- 9. When it is necessary, the BSMI may convene a Plenary Meeting of All Technical Committees (hereinafter referred to as the Plenary Meeting) or a Joined Meeting of All or Some Technical Committees (hereinafter referred to as the Joined Meeting) to discuss common standards or related issues.
- 10. The Plenary Meeting or Joined Meeting shall be convened and chaired by the Director General of the BSMI or his designated staff. If the chairperson cannot attend the meetings, members attending the meeting or chairpersons of the Technical Committees shall elect one to act on his behalf.
- 11. The decisions of the Technical Committees, the Plenary Meeting or the Joined Meeting shall be made based on the agreement of more than one-half majority of Technical Committee members that are present.
- 12. The decisions of the Plenary Meeting and Joined Meeting shall be deemed as the decisions of each Technical Committee meeting.